© IMPT / Fischer

Our main research activities focus on the design and production-oriented fabrication of micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS) for applications in quantum technology, industry-related sensor technology and biomedical engineering. The core competences of the institute are thin film technology, structuring technology, packaging technology, mechanical processing and characterization of MEMS and MEMS materials.

Report Dissertation Defense

New Dr.-Ing from the IMPT ranks

Last Tuesday, 12.04.2022, Mr. Sebastian Bengsch successfully passed his oral dissertation defense. The IMPT congratulates the new doctor! In the future, Mr. Bengsch will work on laser-structurable thermoplastics and their use in microsystems at the industrial partner Ensinger GmbH.

Infrastructure project funded

Hannover Alliance of Research on Diamond (HARD) funded through REACT-EU!

The IMPT, in collaboration with Prof. Dr. Uwe Morgner (Institute of Quantum Optics, IQO), Prof. Dr. Michael Kues (Institute of Photonics, IOP), Prof. Dr.-Ing. Marc Wurz (DLR Institute of Quantum Technology, University of Ulm), the Institute of Solid State Physics at the PTB Braunschweig and the AG Paasche (VIANNA, Medical School Hanover), has obtained a grant of 2.6 million euros for the expansion of regional infrastructure for research on the material diamond. In the infrastructure project "Hannover Alliance of Research on Diamond (HARD)", equipment for the production, structuring, and integration of diamond coatings will be procured and put into operation. With these measures, which are financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) within the REACT-EU initiative, the infrastructure for diamond research will be significantly expanded. Future research topics in the fields of production technology, optics, quantum optics and gravitational physics, as well as biomedical technology will be supported.

Research Project

Successful completion of the research project "Deep drawing with a thin-film inductive sensor for monitoring flange draw-in (AiF/FOSTA 20468N)”

At the end of the year 2021, the IGF research project "Deep drawing with a thin-film inductive sensor for monitoring flange draw-in" was successfully completed. In this project, in cooperation with the Institute of Forming Technology and Maschines (IFUM), a new type of inductive sensor for measuring the flange pull in deep drawing processes was developed and tested. The sensor system extends the state of the art in the field of monitoring forming processes and offers a robust and at the same time reliable possibility for process monitoring.

phi - Production Technology Hanover informs

Development of a piezoelectric force sensor array

Measuring smallest forces precisely and within a very short time: This challenge is currently being researched by the Institute of Micro Production Technology (IMPT) in cooperation with the Institute of Dynamics and Vibration Research (IDS). The sensors used in this application are made of piezoelectric materials.

phi - Production Technology Hanover informs

Additive manufacturing at the IMPT: New metal 3D printer in use

A new metal 3D printer is now in use at the Institute of Micro Production Technology (IMPT). It will manufacture complicated geometries which are not possible to achieve with conventional manufacturing processes. The researchers plan to use the printer for prototyping of vacuum components, among other things.

Change of Mangement at the IMPT

Marc Wurz receives professorship offer at the Universität Ulm

  Dr.-Ing. Marc Christopher Wurz, previously the senior engineer at the Institute of Microproduction Technology (IMPT), has been appointed professor at Ulm University, specifically at the German Aerospace Center - Institute of Quantum Technologies (DLR QT). However, he will remain at the IMPT as an external assistant lecturer and continue his research projects here. Folke Dencker is the new senior engineer and also takes over deputy management.  

Dissertation Defense Announcements

New Dr.-Ings. from the IMPT

On April 20 and 21, three of our current and former scientific employees Mr. Daniel Klaas, Mr. Matthias Kaiser and Mr. Esmail Asadi were successfully awarded their doctorates. Their lectures were streamed live via Webex. The IMPT congratulates the three new Dr.-Ing.s!

A word of thanks!

IMPT wins Ilse-ter-Meer Award 2020

The Ilse-ter-Meer Award honors projects and initiatives in the areas of equal opportunities for women and men, diversity and family service. It is awarded for outstanding and sustainable projects, individual events or promotional measures. This year's Ilse-ter-Meer Award 2020 went to the "Mädchen und Technik" -Tag (MuT) organized by Selina Raumel and Rico Ottermann.

News of SCALE

The shell building is ready!

A new building is being constructed next to the Hannover Center for Production Technology (PZH) for research into production technology in XXL format: the SCALE research building. The shell is in place, now the roof and facade will follow, then the interior. The opening is planned for fall 2022.

© IMPT / Fischer

Unser Hauptaugenmerk der Forschungsaktivitäten liegt im Entwurf und der produktionsorientierten Fertigung von Mikro-Elektromechanischen Systemen (MEMS) für Applikationen in der Quantentechnologie, der industrienahen Sensorik und der Biomedizintechnik. Dabei liegen die Kernkompetenzen des Instituts in der Dünnfilmtechnologie, Strukturierungstechnologie, der Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik, sowie der mechanischen Bearbeitung und Charakterisierung von MEMS und MEMS Materialien.

Studierende Gesucht

Projekte im Kontext neuartiger Sensorik, Eletronikentwicklung, Datenerfassung und KI

Für spannende und innovative Projekte in diesem Kontext werden interessierte, selbstständige Studierende der Studiengänge Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik, Mechatronik, Informationstechnik, (Technische) Informatik und Physik gesucht.

Bericht Promotion

Neuer Doktor aus den Reihen des IMPTs

Am vergangenen Dienstag, dem 12.04.2022, wurde Herr Sebastian Bengsch erfolgreich promoviert. Zur Auszeichnung "sehr gut" gratuliert das IMPT dem neuen Doktor! Herr Bengsch setzt sich in Zukunft mit laser-strukturierbaren Thermoplasten und ihrem Einsatz in Mikrosystemen bei dem Industriepartner Ensinger GmbH auseinander.

Infrarstrukturprojekt bewilligt

Hannover Alliance of Research on Diamond (HARD) durch REACT-EU gefördert!

Das IMPT hat in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Dr. Uwe Morgner (Institut für Quantenoptik, IQO), Prof. Dr. Michael Kues (Institut für Photonik, IOP), Prof. Dr.-Ing. Marc Wurz (DLR Institut für Quantentechnologie, Universität Ulm), dem Institut für Festkörperphysik der PTB Braunschweig und der AG Paasche (VIANNA, MH-Hannover) eine Förderung über 2,6 Millionen Euro für den Ausbau regionaler Infrastruktur zur Forschung an dem Werkstoff Diamant eingeworben. In dem Infrastrukturprojekt "Hannover Alliance of Research on Diamond (HARD)" werden Anlagen zur Herstellung, Strukturierung und Integration von Diamantschichten beschafft und in Betrieb genommen. Mit diesen Maßnahmen, die aus dem Förderprogramm Europaische Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) innerhalb der REACT-EU Initiative finanziert wird, wird die Infrastruktur für Diamantforschung signifikant erweitert. So sollen zukünftige Forschungsthemen in den Bereichen Produktionstechnik, Optik, Quantenoptik und Gravitaionsphysik, sowie der Biomedizintechnik unterstützt und ermöglicht werden.

Forschungsprojekte

Erfolgreicher Abschluss des Forschungsprojektes “Tiefziehen mit integrierter Flanscheinzugssensorik in Dünnschichttechnik (AiF/FOSTA 20468N)“

Zum Ende des Jahres 2021 wurde das IGF-Forschungsprojekt „Tiefziehen mit integrierter Flanscheinzugssensorik in Dünnschichttechnik“ erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Dabei wurde in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Umformtechnik und Umformmaschinen (IFUM) ein neuartiger induktiver Sensor zur Messung des Flanscheinzugs in Tiefziehprozessen entwickelt und erprobt. Das Sensorsystem erweitert den Stand der Technik auf dem Gebiet der Überwachung von Umformprozessen und bietet eine robuste und gleichzeitig zuverlässige Möglichkeit zur Prozessüberwachung.

phi - Produktionstechnik Hannover informiert

Entwicklung eines piezoelektrischen Kraftsensor-Arrays

Kleinste Kräfte ortsgenau und in sehr kurzer Zeit messen: An dieser Herausforderung forscht aktuell das Institut in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Dynamik und Schwingungen (IDS). Anwendung finden dabei Sensoren aus piezoelektrischen Materialien.

phi - Produktionstechnik Hannover informiert

Additive Fertigung am IMPT: Neuer Metall-3D-Drucker im Einsatz

Ein neuer Metall-3D-Drucker kommt am Institut zum Einsatz. Damit können komplizierte Geometrien gefertigt werden, die mit herkömmlichen Fertigungsverfahren nicht möglich sind. Die Forschenden wollen den Drucker unter anderem für den Prototypenbau von Vakuumkomponenten nutzen.

Führungswechsel am IMPT

Marc Wurz erhält Ruf an die Universität Ulm

Dr.-Ing. Marc Christopher Wurz, bisher Oberingenieur am Institut für Mikroproduktionstechnik (IMPT), ist zum Professor an die Universität Ulm berufen worden, und zwar an das Deutsche Luft- und Raumfahrzentrum – Institut für Quantentechnologien (DLR QT). Er bleibt aber als Lehrbeauftragter am IMPT und führt seine Projekte hier weiter. Folke Dencker ist neuer Oberingenieur am IMPT und übernimmt auch die stellvertretende Geschäftsführung.

Promotionen

Neue Doktoren aus den Reihen des IMPTs

Am 20. und 21. April wurden drei Wissenschafltichen Mitarbeiter, Herr Daniel Klaas, Herr Matthias Kaiser und Herr Esmail Asadi, erfolgreich promoviert. Ihre Vorträge konnten über Webex live verfolgt werden. Das IMPT gratuliert den drei neuen Doktoren!

Neues von SCALE

Der Rohbau steht!

Für die Erforschung von Produktionstechnik im XXL-Format entsteht neben dem Produktionstechnischen Zentrum Hannover (PZH) ein neues Gebäude: Der Forschungsbau SCALE. Der Rohbau steht, nun folgen Dach und Fassade, dann der Innenausbau. Die Eröffnung ist für Herbst 2022 geplant.

Wir sagen Danke!

IMPT gewinnt Ilse-ter-Meer-Preis 2020

Der Ilse-ter-Meer-Preis zeichnet Projekte und Initiativen in den Bereichen Chancengleichheit für Frauen und Männer, Diversität und Familienservice aus. Er wird für hervorragende und nachhaltige Projekte, Einzelveranstaltungen oder Fördermaßnahmen vergeben. Der diesjährige Ilse-ter-Meer-Preis 2020 ging an den v „Mädchen und Technik" -Tag (MuT), organisiert von Selina Raumel und Rico Ottermann.

Weitere Meldungen?